I’m Home Makati

So after a cheap suitcase that I had to return and buck up and buy the Samsonite and decreasing one of my suitcases by 30 pounds in order to make the 70 pound bag limit I made it to Manila! Check out just some of my products that I shipped even though I left a pile of stuff sitting on the bed back in Cali hoping the hubby can squeeze it in his luggage when he comes in two weeks or if they can cram it in the tiny carton they give us to ship air. The sight was rather hilarious as I would take a few items out the suitcase, zip it up then ask the hubby to step on the scale with the bag so that I could see if I was within the weight limit (I think he did this about 7 times). We tried putting the bag on the scale, but you couldn’t see the number so we just would minus his weight holding the bag to figure out how much it weighed. We were hoping our scale was right and luckily it was right on. At the airport my two bags made out at 69.2 and 69.7! Yayyyy us!

So after my 14 hour flight (Side Note – I watched two very random movies, Sex in the City 2 and Harry Potter: Order of the Phoenix LOL) with a stop in Guam in good ole’ business class (I heart business class) I landed in Manila and breezed through immigration and customs. I was picked up by the manager of the transportation company and my new driver Mackie at the airport. We headed to my new home The Ascott, which is a nice serviced apartment that sits on top of Glorietta 4, one of the malls. They booked me starting at check-in for that day, which should have really been the day before since I arrived at 5:45 AM! So the apartment wasn’t ready. They put me in a temporary apartment until 1 PM. At first I was irritated as I sat around most of the day cause I just wanted to get to my apartment and get settled in. When they called me to tell me my room was ready all my complaints went out the door. The apartment is on a high floor (as requested wih a great view) and the layout is a little larger then the one they showed me when I was here in January. Mainly the kitchen size is increased, which was one of the things I was worried about, but now it is the perfect size.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

After doing a bit of unpacking (I need to go buy hangers in order to really unpack) I ventured down to what else but the mall! I wandered around aimlessly, but ended up getting a mani and a serious pedi at Let’s Face It Salon (nail’s, facials, massages, scrubs, microdermabrasion, threading, etc.). When I say serious I mean one where I paid to have a callus gel mask and a foot special cause the bottom of my feet needed a lot of work. I used to get pedis back home in Cali only once every six months or so because any money to save for the remodel of the house is a dollar closer to it being finished. I was there for around 3 1/2 hours and it cost me about $22. Now that my feet are a lot smoother I can get a normal mani/pedi for only about $5 each time.

I kept wandering around and didn’t have any idea where I was. I ended up at one of the SM malls and bought some lechon paksiw (check out a description and recipe to cook it http://panlasangpinoy.com/2010/03/07/lechon-paksiw-recipe/)  and bread to eat for dinner. Luckily I found SM as I found the Forever 21! I didn’t go in, but was happy to see it as I was wondering where it was. Since I didn’t know where I was in the mall I decided to try outside. Boy was that a good idea because I was literally right around the corner from our apartment. Inside the malls confuse me, but soon as I get outside I know exactly where I am. I ended my first day home in Manila eating my Filipino meal looking at the Makati night scene. TTT…

10 thoughts on “I’m Home Makati

  1. So glad you are settling in and even found the forever21 and made dinner. Have a great first week. Miss you already. Have you tried removing the pills from the bottles n peelIng the labels n putting in a ziplock bag?

    • Good thought, but I didn’t want them to think I was smuggling drugs into the country LOL so I decided to keep all pills and prescriptions in tact just as is 🙂

  2. Oh that brings back som many wonderful memories! Though you might be tempted once you want a little “taste of home” do NOT go to the Tony Roma’s right downstairs. It is gross. The Outback is good but steaks are really expensive in Manilla ($30 at OUTBACK!). If you want an amazing steak send me a note and I will tell you where to go… Pricey but might be a great place to take Dean when he arrives!

    Have a blast. You are in for such an amazing adventure. Also, once you get the lay of the land let’s chat again about all the cool vacation spots!

  3. Packing and weighing bags brought back memories of what I experience each time am going home. Thanks for sharing your adventure.

  4. Superfabulous apartment Sis! Its pretty spacious and just enough furniture. You will definately be able to add some decor and make it feel a lil more like your own home. All this time I thought you were waiting days to get in your apartment. It was a few hours. Lol I am jealous. I NEED the same foot treatment. Those prices are what I use to pay 20 years ago over the ramp in EPA. (With a design..initial of your boo of course) seems so corney now. I miss you a lot. Can’t wait till Dean gets there with you. At least ill know he will be there to keep you safe. Its weird you being a whole day ahead….hope to be video chatting soon. Luv yah! BTW thanks for the gifts. Luv jo jos shirt and containers for lunch. Muah

Leave a Reply

