Discovering Tikoy – Happy Chinese New Year!

Niángāo, Year cake, or Tikoy as it is called here in the Philippines is a glutinous rice that is normally consumed during Chinese New Year. I’m not going to go into all that history smishtory stuff, but in general eating this sticky rice cake is supposed to bring me good luck. Hey I’m always down for some more luck.

This Tikoy was given to me by my co-worker. I wasn’t sure what it was and my other co-worker had to teach me how to cook it. For all my friends and family out there they know I don’t cook. But this was simple just like cooking eggs, which is one thing that I can cook oh and is one of my favorite foods by the way. Just in case you wanted to know 🙂

The cake is very sweet but super yummy. Soon as it hits your tongue it reminds me of french toast but when you take a bite it is anything but. Definitely will be eating this again!

DSC00283 DSC00285

HAPPY CHINESE NEW YEAR!

~Today’s Thoughts…

Leave a Reply

